Our Team

BLUEsat is the proud work of several generations of UNSW Sydney undergraduates from a massive range of degrees. To give due credit to all these talented people would be impossible so we would like to extend our collected gratitude to those who have made BLUEsat what it is today. Thank you all!

The current team consists of roughly fifty students from a range of engineering and none-engineering degrees, from all of the different years, working on a number of different space projects including our mars rover, satellite systems, high-altitude ballooning, mission science and ground-station. We also have an active operations, media, and outreach team.

The Current BLUEsat Executive Team at UNSW

Raghav Hariharan


Raghav Hariharan is currently in his second year studying Mechatronics combined with Computer Science. He was previously the Arc Delegate until he was elected for the role of president in May of 2018. He is extremely curious about the wonders and mysteries of space and is determined to share his passion and provide an opportunity for students to learn and develop their professional and academic skills whilst studying.

Anita Smirnov


Anita Smirnov is in her second year of a Mechatronic Engineering degree at UNSW, interested in combining her passions for robotics and art. Before her role as secretary, she was working on the software team for the 'NUMBAT' rover as well as helping manage BLUEsat's social media.

Thomas Renneberg

Chief Technical Officer – Robotics

Thomas Renneberg is a 4th-year Mechanical Engineering student at UNSW. Thomas assumed the Off-World Robotics CTO position after a year of being the mechanical team lead and laying the foundation for BLUEsat's new rover. Aside from developing BLUEsat's new rover "NUMBAT", Thomas enjoys cooking and maintaining his vegetable garden.

Timothy Guo

Chief Technical Officer – Satellites

Timothy Guo is a Telecommunications and Commerce undergraduate at UNSW Sydney. He has previously lead BLUEsat's groundstation squad, leading a team of engineers to provide communications to UNSW's satellite, the EC0. He now endeavours to lead BLUESat's satellite tribe towards even greater plans.

Yasmin Akhtar


Yasmin Akhtar is an Actuarial Studies and Commerce student at UNSW Sydney. She has a keen interest in finance as well as an enthusiasm for engineering, having experience in electrical building services design and BLUEsat UNSW allows her to combine these interests.

Bohan Deng

ARC Delegate

Bohan Deng is a third year Aerospace Engineering student at UNSW Sydney who loves anything to do with space. Prior to taking up the Arc Delegate position, he was involved in developing the new 'NUMBAT' rover.

Elias Aboutanios

Academic Supervisor – Satellites

Dr Elias Aboutanios is a Senior Lecturer with the The School of Electrical Engineering and Telecommunications. He received his BE in Electrical Engineering from UNSW Australia in 1997 and his PhD from UTS in 2002. His PhD research was on the estimation of frequency for the frequency tracking for communications with a low earth orbit satellite. Dr Aboutanios has been instrumental in the establishment of BLUEsat UNSW’s Stratsopheric Balloon launches and the completion of the original Microsatellite.

Past Executives